The Governing Board consists of ten persons from the Academy's member institutions elected at the Academy's Annual Collegium by representatives of the member institutions. Click on each member's name below for a biographical note.

The Chair of IUCN's Commission on Environmental Law and the head of IUCN's Environmental Law Program are also members of the Governing Board, to ensure close continuing cooperation with IUCN in the implementation of the Academy's research recommendations.

Members of the Governing Board


Professor Elizabeth Kirk (Chair)
Nottingham Trent University, Scotland, UK
Region: Western Europe

Professor Carmen Gonzalez (Vice-Chair)
Seattle University, United States
Region: North America

Professor Svitlana Romanko
Vasyl Stefanyk Precarpathian National University, Ukraine
Region: Eastern Europe and Central Asia

Ana Nusdeo

Professor Ana Maria Nusdeo
University of Sao Paulo, Brazil
Region: South America

Professor Rose-Liza Eisma Osorio
University of Cebu, Philippines
Region: South-East Asia

Trevor Daya Professor Trevor Daya Winterbottom
University of Waikato New Zealand
Region: Oceania

Professor Jose Juan Marquez
Metropolitan Autonomous University, Mexico
Region: Meso-America


Professor Sanjeevi Shanthakumar
G.D. Goenka University, India
Region: South and West Asia Region

Qin Tianbao

Professor Qin Tianbao
Director, Research Institute of Environmental Law (RIEL)
Vice Dean, School of Law, Wuhan University, China
Region: North Asia

Justice Antonio Benjamin
Justice, National High Court of Brazil (STJ), Brazil
Chair, World Commission on Environmental Law


Dr. Alejandro Iza
Head, IUCN Environmental Law Programme
Director, IUCN Environmental Law Centre, Germany

Professor Alexander Paterson
University of Cape Town, South Africa
Region: Africa

A payment form will be sent when your membership application is approved by the IUCN Academy of Environmental Law

Please note the date that membership commences is when payment of the required fees is received.