Membership & Renewals

Membership is open to university law departments, law faculties and law schools, as well as academic research institutions, located throughout the world, that have made teaching and research about environmental law a significant component of their academic program.

There is no limitation on the number of member institutions per country or per region. Institutional membership entitles an environmental law centre to send a representative to the Academy’s annual Collegium.

There is no separate category of membership for either individuals or environmental law centres under the by-laws. However, both full-time and part-time staff of any institution that is a member of the Academy, or of any environmental law centre located within the member institution, are entitled to participate in the Academy's activities and will receive regular communications from the Academy.

Please access our Membership Application form .

For update please access the Change of Membership Information Form

Send completed applications via email to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The Governing Council takes into account the following criteria when considering applications for membership of the Academy:

  • Number of professors specialised in environmental law
  • Teaching in environmental law on a regular basis
  • History of publishing in environmental law
  • Commitment to supporting participation of one or more of its environmental professors in Academy activities.

You can review our Institutional Membership Criteria here.

Different levels of fees are set by the Governing Board to facilitate participation from qualifying institutions in developing nations and nations with economies in transition.

There are three categories of annual membership fees, depending on the location of the Member Institution.

High-Income Economies: 400 Euros per year (US $560.00)
(Australia, Canada, Brunei, Gulf States, Hong Kong, Iceland, Israel, Japan, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Korea, United States of America, Western Europe

Middle-Income Economies: 100 Euros per year (US $140.00)
(Brazil, Chile, Central and Eastern China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Eastern Europe, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Malaysia, Mexico, Mongolia, Nigeria, North Africa, Philippines, Slovenia, South Africa, Russian Federation, Serbia, South America, Sri Lanka, Syria, Thailand, Turkey)

Low-Income Economies: 50 Euros per year
(US $70.00)
(Bangladesh, Bosnia, Cambodia, Caribbean, Central and Southern Africa, India, Laos, Myanmar, Nepal, North Korea, Pakistan, South Pacific, Vietnam)

*Note: The annual membership fee for Member institutions is based on the 2014 World Bank’s classification of economies. The classification of region applies if your country is not listed individually. If there is any doubt about the classification of your country please consult: this website.